April Fools! You Got Me, WordPress!

After weeks and weeks of mediocre stats (even though I promote my blog relentlessly on other websites, through word of mouth  with my friends and co-workers, as well as putting up posters around town to try to trick people into visiting my site), I sign in today to see this:

april fools stats screen capture

Woo hoo! I'm popular! 100 views in a single day!

I somehow have 100 views, and it’s not even my lunch break!  Look at that beautiful, towering bar on the right, dwarfing my other days stats!  People love me and my entirely inappropriate posts about breasts and pubic hair!

After a quick victory dance to Disco Duck (which was conveniently playing on the radio at the time), I sat down to assess why I was suddenly a moderately successful blogger.

april fools stats close up

Hold on, only 10 views today?

Ok, so there must be some glitch in the stats.  That says I only have 10 views, but the graph shows that I have 100.  The graph must be correct, right?

Oh, wait.  It’s April 1st.  April Fools Day.  And I am the fool.

Did anyone else fall for this?

EDIT:  I now have nearly 250 hits today!  Although, it says April fools in bold when you hover over the bar.  Damn fake stats.

April Fools is starting to make me feel super cool!

And the hits keep coming!

This entry was posted in Semi-Serious and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to April Fools! You Got Me, WordPress!

  1. Jenna says:

    Okay, I didn’t click the “LIKE” button because I like that you were fooled…but I clicked “LIKE” because I think it’s super funny! And no, I haven’t fallen for it…yet…because I didn’t even look at the bar graph stats. But not that I’ve read your blog…haha…I guess I won’t be falling for it! 🙂
    BTW–do you really post signs around town to trick people into reading your blog?? If so, how? I need to do that!! LOL 🙂

  2. yeah, I also fell for it. You posting on this actually got you a new hit though! 🙂

    • dongtacular says:

      I was hoping I wasn’t the only one who noticed, and I thought tagging my post with “april fools” and “wordpress” may throw some hits my way. Thanks for reading!

  3. jamieonline says:

    I had exactly the same reaction. Grrrrrrrr!

  4. Gracie says:

    Ahhh hahaha that’s awesome! I totally missed it. Now I feel left out because I didn’t get pranked. BOOOOOO

  5. Cayman Thorn says:

    Did you just like, go away, forever?

Leave a Reply

