How Many Times Can I Fall In Love Today?

Many times, apparently.  Not just today either, nearly every day for the last few years.  Is it that I’m a romantic (I certainly hope not), or could it be that I’m so desperately lonely, I try to love every woman I come into contact with?

Some people hate couples like this...

Sigh...

It’s not that I’m really falling in love with them.  Love is not a word that I use all that often.  I find that it’s a dangerous word to say, as once you express your love for someone, things get serious.  If you love someone (or at least say that you do), they feel compelled to love you back, or tell you that they do not love you, never will, never could, and the relationship is destroyed.  Even if you were good friends before, it is incredibly difficult to carry on a friendship when the love has been mentioned.  Once you put it out there, you can’t take it back.

I know that there are different types of love.  The love I have for my family, for example.  I love my Mother, Father, Sisters and Brothers, and I always will.  But this is different from loving a lover, and from loving a friendI love my friends, I really do, but I would never say it to them, as they are guys, and would likely never talk to me again.

More fish tacos!

Although, "I Love You, Man" did have a some good lessons.

Basically, all I’m saying is that love is not I word that I throw around like a football.  I only use it sparingly, when I’m sure that I truly, honestly love that person.

But like is a great word.  I like many things.  I am deeply, madly in like with several people, and innumerable ideas, objects, and things in general.  Not a day goes by that I don’t like something.  Facebook is great for this.  I like Facebook, because it lets you like things for no reason at all, even if they are entirely inappropriate.  I like shit all god-damn day on Facebook.

I do not like women who need constant attention and compliments.

But I don't like Olivia.

Alright, now I can tell you what I really like, and why I thought I was falling in love constantly (although we have now established that I was not falling in love, just falling in like).

I prefer brunettes, but I wouldn't turn her down.

I'm a sucker for a great smile.

Women.  Women who smile, are confident, are intelligent, who walk with an air of sophistication, but don’t take themselves too seriously (please understand that I joke about everything).  But can I infer a goofy personality from just looking at a person?

I've never ate rabbit, but I hear it makes the best jus.

I like silly photos.

I like attractive women, but I have found that lookers are dime-a-dozen, and a good personality is more difficult to find.  Honestly, whenever I go anywhere, I notice attractive women and wonder if they are dating anyone.  There is always something that initially attracts me to them.

Must stop looking into her eyes...

This example has several characteristics that I find attractive.

Stunningly beautiful pictures aside (sometimes I find that when women are too attractive, I become extremely nervous, sick-to-my-stomach even.  Am I the only one who feels this way?),  I do find that I can see a certain aspect of a person that makes me want to learn more about them.  A stray wisp of hair, a slightly errant eyebrow, or a tiny scar on her lip will make me more interested in a woman.  Those little things that add character to a face, and hopefully instilled character into their personality.  These character aspects can also assist you in taking a different view of the person in question.

Sorry, I couldn't make an entirely serious post.

Upside down is a different view, an entirely new perspective, really.

I guess all I’m really trying to say is that I like women, I like looking at them, like learning about them, like getting to know them, but I’m not entirely ready to love them just yet.  But possibly if the right one came along, my ‘like’ philosophy could be changed.

What do you think?  Do you Like, (seriously, click the ‘Like’ button on this post for me), Love, or Hate my concepts of Like and Love?

This entry was posted in Finding Women and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to How Many Times Can I Fall In Love Today?

  1. jennawritings says:

    OMG! I LOVE THIS POST! I am subscribed to your blog and I love your witty way of writing. It just so happens I am feeling this way, too, about a guy I had been dating for a month & then we ended things. Turns out his a complete jerk. We even argued on twitter. Anyway, I really needed to hear this b/c I can so relate (i like men AND women) but it’s refreshing to hear that men go through what I thought only women go through: the infatuation o/Love & Like vs Love.
    I’m going to share your blog w/my friends, tweet it, and post a link o/it on my blog. LOVE IT!

    xo

    http://www.thedertythirty.com (my blog)

    • dongtacular says:

      Thanks Jenna! I sometimes feel like a woman when I discuss my feelings, but then I remember I’m a man, so I finish my beer and do some chin-ups.

      I’ll check in on your blog, so far, it looks good!

      PS: Thanks for ‘Like’-ing my post! I accidentally ‘Like’-d it myself! Now I look like an ass.

      • jennawritings says:

        LOl it’s okay to “like” your own shit, man! 😉 You’re so silly. Do you have Twitter? If so, I’m on twitter @iJennxo.

        And thanks for checking out my blog. I don’t really post on my “jennawritings” because I post on my http://www.thedertythirty.com under my “secret writer name” lol it’s for privacy reasons (the job).
        Anyway, I look forward to reading more of your postins and chatting with ya!
        x

  2. Pingback: The Derty Thirty » Blog Archive » How Many Times Can I Fall In Love Today? by dongtacular (The Derty Thirty’s Recommended Blog Reading)

  3. John says:

    You sound like the protagonist of this movie:

    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0076155/

    (watch it, you’ll thank me later; if nothing else, watch it for all of the incredibly beautiful women)

  4. YawningDog says:

    I definitely like your way of thinking. And writing.

Leave a Reply

